Burning

Burning

I feel as though I am being burned alive-
melting,
dripping,
screaming.
My mother warned that I’d lose myself
but here I am
playing with fire
and letting myself get lost

Lost in the intoxication
of your glowing flame,
vivid and bright;
I was taken beyond
the sheer audacity of
psychedelic experience
and blown
into this bona fide universe,
the sun at its core.

Your warmth drew me in more and more-
too close.
Pricks of pain
dragged across my fingertips
and I pulled away;
overwhelmingly
scared of love,
but wanting love
just as much.
My first taste of painful pleasure.
An addiction.

When is enough ever enough?
At this point I’m not sure
if I’ve fully melted
or if the burning has made me numb,
become a bearable ache.
Is this what love is,
something I would never get over?
Ah yes;
that taste,
that sensation,
that fire.
My heaven, my hell.

Light another one up
and watch me burn.


Featured Image

Inspired from a line in Billie Eilish’s song, watch.

“Go ahead and watch my heart burn”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

No Comments

Post a Comment