Curtain Call

Curtain Call

Blackout.

The pitter-patter of actors

is overridden by an applause

well-deserved, but not demanded.

Wrinkled, sweaty, delicate

palms against palms, resound along

walls against walls- offbeat

yet amicable with the orchestra’s fortissimo,

a tasteful dissonance of admiration.

Goosebumps tickle my skin,

running up my arms as the legs

of a spider would.

I clap for as long and as hard as I can,

not even bothering to wipe down

my wet cheeks.

 

Lights up.

Their suits and gowns

smell of classic garden roses

and tell a tale of monochrome swans,

black and white resistance-

unable to exist without the other.

Not even a speck of glitter remained

from the dazzling masquerade where

disjointed waltzes were tugged into place

by the master puppeteer,

snapping masked heads in unison,

conductor to the roaring of the cymbals.

 

A fervent warmth remained in my chest

for the stage I wished to rewind, replay, relive.

My lips contorted as though they were too,

bound to string, silently singing along

until they disappeared behind the depths

of the curtain.

 

Bittersweetness lingers on my tongue

for what could have been, what were to happen

to the abandoned phantom, his voice in my bones;

a tender, haunting music of the night.


Featured Image

Hart, Charles. The Music of the Night, Andrew Lloyd Webber.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

No Comments

Post a Comment