free

free

let us be free

they chanted-

rampant caterpillars,

wiggling lines

of blue and red

beneath my skin.

they ravage on anything

they can find-

swelled guts,

crimson clots,

gnawing even on bone,

destroying faster

than I can mend,

tie loose strings of sinew

into knots.

 

pieces of white paint

begin to chip off my ribcage,

their masses close in-

preying on, peeking at, pleading for

the meaty organ

encasing my entirety.

 

my eyeballs stare at the back of my head,

vision spiraling out of control-

limbs convulsing to the heavy beat

that rocks my body-

deep bass tingling

sharp pains

up my torso.

 

I dig deep into

the divets

of my collar,

down to the cups

of my breast,

raw flesh scraped

beneath my fingernails-

make it stop!

 

just one incision,

one slit,

one opening

needed

to look inside

and let them out-

void of pain, void of fear.

 

uncontrollably

I claw, I claw,

I tear open

and butterflies fly free,

their wings striated

with eaten muscle

and tissue.

 

I am left dangling as an

empty bag of skeleton;

once a home for

metamorphosis.

 


Featured Image

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

No Comments

Post a Comment