I Thought…

I Thought…

You saw me as a clear figure through the smoke

I thought I was your saving grace.

You held me close, afraid to let go

I thought I was your lifeline.

You told me that I kept you warm in the chill frigid air

I thought it was my lips to yours; a spark that couldn’t compare.

You told me that as we inhaled and exhaled, our flow of breath collided in a dance of swirls that became one

I thought we would always linger in each other’s atmosphere.

You told me that I was your intoxication, your guilty pleasure

I thought I was your cure.

You told me that the closer you embraced me, the closer you were able to embrace heaven

I thought I was your angel.

You told me that you were finished, I didn’t think it was time to be burnt out yet.

You told me that I lit up your dark void with my stars

But I was only your cigarette.


Featured Image

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

No Comments

Post a Comment