The Ache

The Ache

Am I lost,

or am I free

wandering aimlessly

away.

I’ve been left behind

by those who refuse

to dream-

they say that

nothing comes from nothing,

how am I to stay?

My body floating

on open sea

or perhaps on

clouds of night.

The moonlight does not comfort me,

sharpened ends of stars

stab at my heart

and so

I will taint the sky with red-

not the color of classic romance

in the form of rose petals,

but the color of blood dripping

from my pricked veins.

Is anyone out there-

someone to help me?

Look at me dead in the eyes,

they’re begging to see past this disguise.

Do you need me for yourself

or need me for who I am-

if you could read my thoughts, you’d cry.

My ears are ringing with silent lies

Lie, lie,

Lie to me like they all do

I’ll feel better if you say it,

even though it’s nothing new.

There’s more to life than just honey, sunshine, and smiles-

“your happiness is your demise”,

what am I to do?

I look up at the clouds wishing I were up there,

I no longer wish to be grounded-

anywhere but here.

The tips of my fingers flow with red,

oozing pools of liquid beneath my skin.

I am sprawled across white bedsheets

smudged with the impression of a

blood angel.

It feels good, a peaceful type of painful;

but I don’t know how much I’m losing.

What’s the use of telling

right from wrong

when there’s nothing here for me.

Am I lost,

or am I free

wandering aimlessly

away.


Featured Image

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

No Comments

Post a Comment